• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I am a noob again, need help.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yuriman

Well, when it came to overclocking P4's and XP's, I knew my buisness, but I want to overclock an a64 now. I have an XPC with a 2800+, and I would like some help.

First, I tried 220x9(stock multi) with the ram locked at 200mhz. It wouldnt post. 210x9 was stable. Temperatures are fine. Now it gets complicated. I have an Nforce3 150 based board, which means no pci lock. Yet I can set the pci bus to whatever I want, in 1mhz increments. So does this mean this board does have pci lock? Also, about the HT bus. Will I have to lower it when I overclock, or is it fine? I can force 4x HT(800/1600mhz) but it performs worse than 3x. A little help please? I havnt felt like a noob in a long time....

Yes, the board does have a PCI bus lock. As long as the HTT is set higher than spec in the BIOS, it kicks in. Do not force 3x. In fact, use 2.5x, or 2x if 2.5x is not available. Also, the memory is not locked at 200. This simply means that it will use the same CPU/mem divider as your HTT, which means it will run at the same speed as the HTT. Set the LDT multi down low, and set the memory low so that these won't get in the way, and try to overclock from there. Once you're satisfied with the CPU, work on increasing the memory.

Well, the ram can be set to 100/133/166/200. So at 200, its realy 220(when I overclock)? Also, I didnt know that nforce3 150's had pci lock, was it only some of them? I have 1.5x/2x/2.5x/3x/4x HT available, will setting it slower hurt system performance at all?

EDIT: If it doesnt have a pci lock, would having an SATA hard drive limit me?