• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i5 2550k w/ Sabertooth Z77?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LGkoster

Registered
I heard in a video that the Sabertooth Z77 supports Ivy Bridge cpu's.
Does this mean that a Sandy Bridge 2550k wouldn't work correctly?
Or would I be fine if I were to use this 2550k/Sabertooth Z77 combo?
If it means anything, I plan to OC@5ghz if possible on my 2550k, if not then hopefully [email protected].

MOBO:
http://www.asus.com/Motherboard/SABERTOOTH_Z77/

PROCESSOR:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115230

I'm a first time builder, or as I like to say "noob". So any information is helpful.

~NOTE~
I will be using either an H100i Corsair Liquid Cooler, or the H80i.
-Depending on changes I make from here until build time
(hopefully by March 1st my rig will be running)

It should worl ok, but if you haven't buy the mobo yet, don't buy the Sabertooth, buy something ell like the ASUS P8Z77-V PRO, it cost the same price but perform much better.
If you want ASUS top dog than go with the ASUS Maximus 5.

It will work just fine. That said, the Sabertooth is an overpriced and 'gimmicky' board to me, but it is solid. For CHEAPER, you could get a MSI Z77 Mpower or an Asrock Z77 OC Formula which are more robust boards for overclocking and less gimmicky (that thermal armor and special coating on the sabertooth are silly IMO...I mean you leaving this thing on your desk or taking it in to battle? :p).

5GHz is a crapshoot and isnt normally a 24/7 overclock depending on the CPU.