• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel 975 @ 5ghz daily possible?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Darionis

Registered
Hey folks,

I'm less than a week away from ordering my new bits and pieces to make a new baby, and was wondering!

I've currently got a E3110 @ 4.21Ghz stable, and was hoping to push my i7 past that, and if possible - towards 5Ghz at a 'daily' setup.

With some intense water cooling (120.4 or 160.4 rad and high cfm fans), I was wondering if anyone would think it's doable. As for cooling liquid, I've had some good experience with the Feser-1 coolant and am most likely going to go for the Feser VS.C - and maybe that new reflow TIM.

On water cooling - not possible. Maybe on phase change, but I'm not sure. Depends on cpu.

I haven't done an i7 OC yet, but with my E3110 my OC limiter was due to that dreaded voltage barrier that I was afraid to cross (I didn't want to kill my lovely Xeon!).

What are the limiting factors with the 975 Extreme?

I'm pretty sure I could deal with heat issues (especially since I can easily get ambient temps to 5-10C for the next few months (yay testing!)

Haha. I'm a canuck! Current temperate is 14C and my crazy family likes to keep the AC running so it's not surprising to see frost on the outside of the central air box.

Fun story - Crysis burned up my video cards, so what I did was make a snow shield for the case and opened up all the windows and brought the ambient down to -25C. That was fun!

Well... if you go -25 you can probably do 4.5GHz daily... 5GHz might be a bit of a push... but you can try!!

Are these i7s heat fiends?

To get a 975 extreme from stock to 5ghz it's a 50% OC. My E3110 is almost a 50% OC, and I always thought the 45nm chips ran cooler?