• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is difficulty ramping for some reason?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JeremyCT

I feel like difficulty is increasing faster than usual lately, but I don't know where I'd get data to prove/disprove that? Anybody else noticed this?

What are you mining?

I am mining zcash and use flypool. And yes it seems to me difficulty is going up in the past several days. I also notice the overall pool's hash rate is climbing -- isn't that what is happening with mining in general and therefore difficult goes up? I am new in the arena so I haven't figured it all out yet.

I mine with Nicehash. It seems like my overall earnings have decreased despite an increase in my total mining power. Everything seems to be working as it should though, so difficulty is my scapegoat.

You can pretty much always expect difficulty to go up over time. About the only time it ever goes down by any significant amount is when the coin drops a lot in value.

You can pretty much always expect difficulty to go up over time. About the only time it ever goes down by any significant amount is when the coin drops a lot in value.

That much I know, but it seems as though it's doubled in the past 2-3 weeks alone. My BTC/day rate with 2 cards currently is what it was with 1 card less than a month ago.

I have seen rapid increases in difficulty in the past, especially on "experimental" coins or coins that have recently spiked in value. The steepest difficulty spike I have seen was 8x in a month because the coin got ASICed.

I guess the problem is that $/BTC isn't really moving, so my profitability is toileting as the difficulty spikes. If it keeps up this way, I think we'll start seeing a large amount of used cards on the market. Mine already have a post-mining use plan, thankfully.