• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Laptop powers up but won't boot!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Barkizzy

I've been searching this forum for answers to my problem but I'm really getting confused because I'm just learning about this stuff. I upgraded to windows 7 and went to Toshiba website for upgrade of drivers. At the very top was a BIOS update. Not knowing any better, I downloaded the upgrade and tried to install within the OS. BAD! Found out that I was supposed to download to flash or disk, then boot from there. Anyhow, computer went dead. Now when I power up I hear fans and DVD drive does work then nothing more than a quiet whine. There's no LED green light indicating that it's booting up. I've tried starting with various function keys but to no avail.
I guess all my fooling around cost me a laptop maybe????
Any hope? I'm not adverse to taking the thing apart if I have to. It's toast now so I got nothing to lose and my hubby is an electronic technician so that might help!

I've had to copy specs for my model as I can't get into my computer for finding out details of the system:

Toshiba Satellite L300D-03K
Model PSL C8C-03K01R
Serial No 19319784Q
Processor
* AMD Turion™ X2 dual-core Mobile processor RM-70 (2.0GHz, 1MB L2 cache, Hypertransport™ 3: up to 3.6 (GT/sec))
Operating System
* Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium 64-bit Edition
Memo
* Standard Memory: 2GB + 1GB DDR2 (800MHz)
* Maximum Memory: 8GB DDR2
* Expansion Modules: 1GB, 2GB, 4GB DDR2
Hard Disk Drive
* 320GB (5400RPM); Serial-ATA hard disk drive
Optical Drive
* DVD SuperMulti (+/-R double layer) drive supporting 11 formats
* Maximum speed and compatibility:
* Read: CD-ROM (24x), DVD-ROM (8x)