• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Learning curve of 5900X

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nebulous

Dreadnought Class Senior
When I upgraded to AM4 from 1151, it was a whole new animal in terms of overclocking it. I could never figure a way to get it stable while trying to max out the clock speed. I had to learn all the tricks of PBO clocking. Trust me, I got peed off ALOT with this thing. I just wanted to open all the barrels full bore and run it like I always did, but nooo. I went to the landfill to work out my anger with a sledgehammer and smash things. Yeah, I know, alittle extreme, but that's me.

So I studied, read, copy notes, drank lots of booze and after several days, I had that AHA! moment.

Anyhows, this is what I got for my rig:

Cores 5 and 9 are the best ones, so I shot for -25
Cores 4 and 8 are next so I went -18
Cpu offset to -0.0375

The rest got -16. Settled for PPT-210 TDC-140 and EDC 145. Any lower on the EDC and my clocks suffer. Any higher and it gets toasty. This got me a max temp of 79c. I set temp limit to 85. Running CB23 max cores get to 5150 and others range from 5001 to 4900. I guess that's not too shabby for my "real 1st time"

Attachments

• clk1.JPG
    clk1.JPG
    193 KB · Views: 11
  • Clock1.JPG
    Clock1.JPG
    246.1 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:
With AGESA 1203.. I use 240/160/190 and all core -26 and she pushes to the tippy top for 5150MHz. With new AGESA I run the same power limits but only +100 boost override as I would be limited to 1.425v, you need that 1.5v to get up to the top.. as well as TDC and EDC.. which the newer AGESAs are bugged.

Also with my settings it is not stable in core cycler.. but I don't care, it is good with everything else :)