• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Like to pick up more DDR3 RAM, should I really just buy the full 16Gb

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

motherboard1

I'd like to bump my old rig from 8gb to 16. It's got some old Kingston Entertainment series 2x4gb sticks of just barely 1600mhz. I'd go on Newegg or Ebay and just grab another 2x4 but I'm not sure the likelyhood of running into issues. Should I just shell out the extra for a 2x8 or something?

It's an FX8350 system and I want enough RAM to run games like SQUAD and BF5 without Windows telling me I need more RAM. I'm not experienced in mixing ram on more modern systems, though I know I did it without issue over a decade ago. What would you recommend doing?

Sure but it doubles in price when you buy twice as much lol.

I'll take your advice and pay to avoid the headaches, I think that's where I'm at in my life.

If you can't find a 2x4GB Kingston set to match, this 2x8GB 2133 kit looks like a good deal.

It might be a good deal but it's only an FX-8350 system for gaming. The research I've done seems to indicate that anything beyond 1600mhz doesn't really yield anything for gaming on an FX System ( Am I wrong? ). I'm probably gonna find the cheapest 16gb of 1600mhz I can. I've checked ebay and was surprised to find that it's hard to beat Newegg's RAM prices even used, unless I want to buy from China. I'm gonna order something today for sure so I get it sooner. I've had things take excruciatingly long from China. Plus you don't even know if your getting the real thing or a knock off ffs.

Last edited:
I thought the sweet spot for FX RAM is 1866 instead of 1600. Here's a CL9 1866 2x8GB kit for $50. Seems a bit sketchy though.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA7S65U68086