• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

MSI GF75 Thin 9SD thermal issues on gaming

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

R1S8K

Hi,

My MSI GF75 Thin 9SD hits really high temperatures on gaming. I just replaced the stock thermal paste that came with the laptop with ARCTIC MX-4 and it's the same and maybe a bit worse than before.

It's my first attempt, next time I would open the laptop and check if the thermal paste I've put was distributed properly.

But let's assume that thermal paste I've put was distributed properly, and the result as I encountered now didn't get improved.

What should I do next ?

I have grizzly liquid metal, which I bought for my desktop, but didn't use it either for the desktop or the laptop until now.

But before going to liquid metal, is there anything I can do to improve the temps ?

It's a laptop... they run really hot, period. Get one of those cooling devices that goes underneath?

How hot is hot? What are your temps? Those cpus are good to 100C.

You can try repasting and see if it helps/was a bad application.

I have a thin model as well. It runs hot when gaming for sure but I run cooler stand with two 120mm fans under it which helps a lot. The GPU still gets to about 85 in warzone but it does help. I don't worry about it too much honestly.

Yes, very high temperatures could lead to fail components on long or short terms.

+ it's not a good feel when you touch the laptop and it's very hot !

In regard to a solution, I changed the thermal paste and used a good brand, but I think it didn't improve the temperature level.

My goal is to enhance the temperatures to not exceed 90 degrees. When it hit the 90s and the temps color goes to red, then I think that's dangerous to the system.