• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

need a little advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cosmickskanker

Registered
hi im new to building computers and on my first build. i need some advice before i put it all together though.
i have the following
cpu: i7 5820k
mobo: asus x99 ews
psu: evea supernova 850 g2
gpu:nvidia quadro k600 (pny)
pci card:asus xonar dg pci oem
hdd:seagate 500gb sata pc hd
ram:hynix 4gb pc4 17000 ddr4 288 pin dimm
cpu cooler:antec kuhler h20 650
case :coolermaster cosmos 100
is intended to be a workstation i can upgrade .a lot of parts are basic to get it up and running but just need to know if its all compatible with each other and i wont blow anything up.

i already have all the components ended use for it is 3d modelling and some basic rendering

Everything looks fine, I would ditch the sound card and use onboard though.

not quite sketch up but 3ds max and z brush . also thanks for the advice .didn't realise it had on board audio .

Ah, that explains the board/cpu choice then.

I know both well. In architecture, that Quadro line is well known for sketchup, with the K2000 being a popular balanced choice, which is all but single threaded and dependent on GPU (like a game).

Max...that likes cores! It also likes RAM, but is surprisingly efficient about it.

Z brush i've not used since about 2008, so I can't say what current versions might best utilize, but you're certainly in the right ballpark.

The Xonar DG uses a CMI8788 which is a pretty high end chip. I would go ahead and use it instead of the onboard audio. On WS boards, typically, the audio is not terrific.
I would use it, that is, except that you can't. You picked a board with no PCI slots. It's all PCI-E. See?

ASUSX99EWS_Title980.jpg

So you're going to have to use the integrated audio on the board.