• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with OC'ing E6400 on Abit AB9

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Brolloks

Benching Senior on Siesta, Premium Member #8
I've been pushing my E6400 with advice from the vets on this forum. Is there anyone out there that have experience with OCing a C2D on a Abit AB9 mobo?
I'm currently at 3.4 GHz at 1.3 V in Bios, see pic below. I do encounter stability problems when running Orthos, it gives me the rounding error, other than that everyting works OK in Windows XP.

Would appreciate advise so I can squeeze another few notches out of this fine piece of electronics.

Last edited:
Evilsizer has an AB9, he's a good resource. I built one AB9 rig for a buddy, so I have some limited experience with that board. I currently have an Abit AW9D.

Like I said in your other thread, that Abit motherboard definitely requires a BIOS update, if you haven't already done that yet.

I also bet if you measured the vcore under load, it's probably more like 1.25v or something less than the 1.3v you set in the BIOS. You will need more voltage to go farther. Heck, my E6600 has a default vcore of 1.325v, so 1.3v is low.

Once you start going over 400 FSB, you might need to raise the MCH and ICHIO voltage a little (maybe 1.3v and 1.55v).

Brolloks said:
I've been pushing my E6400 with advice from the vets on this forum. Is there anyone out there that have experience with OCing a C2D on a Abit AB9 mobo?
I'm currently at 3.4 GHz at 1.3 V in Bios, see pic below. I do encounter stability problems when running Orthos, it gives me the rounding error, other than that everyting works OK in Windows XP.

Would appreciate advise so I can squeeze another few notches out of this fine piece of electronics.