• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New AMD gaming system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Exodus7

Registered
Well now that I've got my X mas money, I've decided to build my first ever gamign rig. I've never used AMD processors before but my friend has told me that they outperform intel processors when overclocked. Anyways here is my rig so far.

All prices in CDN currency:

Case: 65$

ANTEC SLK3000B ATX MID TOWER CASE Black 6X5.25 5X3.5 NO PS (cheap case)

Processor:210$

AMD Opteron 144 Processor S939 Venus 1.8GHZ 1MB L2 Cache 90NM 64BIT Retail Box

Motherboard:

MSI K8N NEO4 PLATINUM MOTHERBOARD ATX S939 DDR PCI-E16 PCI-E4 PCI-E 4PCI SATA RAID SOUND LAN 1394 158$

OR

ASUS A8N-E MOTHERBOARD ATX S939 NFORCE4 ULTRA DDR PCI-E16 PCI-E4 2PCI-E1 3PCI SATA RAID GBLAN SOUND 136$

OR

DFI LANParty UT NF4 ULTRA-D Motherboard ATX S939 NFORCE4 Ultra DDR 2PCI-E16 SATA RAID Sound LAN 1394 153$

RAM:

OCZ EL PC3200 1GB 2X512MB DDR400 CL2-3-2-6 184PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit W/ Ramsink (will overclock better then value ram) 162$

Hardrive: 153$

Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB 8.9MS Hard Drive 3 Year MFR Warranty

Floppy: SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE 10$

Video Card:

EVGA E-GEFORCE 6800GS SLI 256MB 256BIT GDDR3 PCI-E VGA DVI-I Video Card Retail Lifetime Warranty 259$

PS:

OCZ OCZ45012U-450W Modstream Power Supply PCI-E Ready W/ Ezmod Cable System & Blue LED Fan 100$

DVD:

LG GSA-4167B 16X DVD+-RW 16X Dual Layer Writer IDE 2MB Black OEM W/ SW Burner 58$

Total price approximation: 1170$

Budget: 1200 $ (before taxes)