• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to overclocking (i5 9600k + RTX 2080 MSI Gaming X-Trio)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FunKaLiTy

Hi,

I'm pretty new to overclocking, so I thought it would be smart to check out an overclocking forum such as this for some advice.

First of all, what are the most important things to avoid so I don't destroy any of my components?

Second, what are the different settings I should adjust when trying to overclock?

Third, how should I most efficiently test the different settings for stability, I know it's recommended you do like 1 hour tests to be sure, but that is way too slow for me.

My setup is as follows:

Motherboard: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-F GAMING
GPU: MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio
CPU: Intel i5 9600k
AIO: Cooler Master ML240L RGB
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz (2x8GB)
PSU: Corsair TX750M 80+ Gold
SSD: 500GB WD Black NVMe M.2 SSD "WDS500G2X0C-00L350"
SSD: 512GB Toshiba NVMe M.2 SSD "THNSN5512GPU7 TOSHIBA"
Wi-fi network card: Asus PCE-AC88 AC3100 PCI-E Adapter
Cabinet: Fractal Design Define R6 + an extra Fractal Design 140mm fan

https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-Z390-F-GAMING/specifications/
https://www.msi.com/Graphics-card/GeForce-RTX-2080-GAMING-X-TRIO
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/products/processors/core/i5-processors/i5-9600k.html
http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/cpu-liquid-cooler/masterliquid-ml240l-rgb/
https://www.corsair.com/eu/en/Memory-Size/vengeance-lpx-black/p/CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Power/txm-series-2017-config/p/CP-9020131-NA
https://www.wd.com/products/internal-ssd/wd-black-nvme-ssd.html#WDS500G2X0C
https://www.cnet.com/products/toshi...d-state-drive-512-gb-pci-express-3-1-x4-nvme/
https://www.asus.com/no/Networking/PCE-AC88/