• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie Overclocking AMD(vision) a10-4600M processor (HELP AND ADVICE PLEASE)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pielovinkyle

I am new to this, and all forum posting so if I do something wrong please tell me and I will try to fix it!

So I have a lenovo Z585 laptop, that I would like to overclock here are it's specs:
AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor
Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64-bit
15.6” Backlit LED HD display (1366x768), 16:9 widescreen
Integrated AMD Radeon™ HD 7660G graphics
6GB DDR3 memory, 750GB HDD storage
Integrated high-speed 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.0
Integrated DVD reader/writer
USB 2.0, USB 3.0 connectors & 5-in-1 card-reader
Integrated 720p HD webcam
Integrated stereo speakers supporting Dolby Home Theatre v4 audio enhancement
HD graphics support & HDMI output

I don't need to improve it much just a little bit to help stay on the safe side.
I mostly need it for emulation programs, based off the program my cpu is being used profusely ranging from 50-100% and my gpu only 10-30%

However with the cpu being used that much I almost get the fps's I would like to have I just need to increase the average fps by 10-20percent and it would be perfect.

So I think like 2.7Ghz might be enough however I don't know much about it!

So I would like for someone to give me advice on what to do, if overclocking is worth it, and if it is how to do it safely.:D

Being a laptop, there are probably no overclocking tools in the bios. Heat and marginal cooling is such an issue in laptops that it would not be a good idea to push it anymore anyway.

:welcome:to the forum pielovinkyle. I know it's a bummer :rain:
I'll second that one Trents. Laptops just don't have the parts for it!!