• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob Here... Help? :) 12600k OC Temps/Settings?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ForgottenUSA

Registered
So I have my new setup here...
32GB DDR5 6000 Kingston Fury Ram "2 x 16GB"
2TB m.2 NVME
Windows 11 Home
EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Rosewill Gold 850 Watt PSU
MSI Z690 Pro-A DDR5 Version
Case MSI Dont remember right off hand? 3 x 120MM EXHUAST BLUE LED Coolermaster 95CFM Fans
Arctic II 360 AIO 3 x 120mm Coolermaster Blue LED 95CFM Fans Front Case Mounted Intake Fans

Now that is out the way...
Question 1: During Prime95 Stress Test I am hitting 99c on Core 1 - 3 and rest are about 90c to 95 and E cores are about 90c Wattage in CPUZ is showing 275+ Watts. Seems maybe I am maxed out in terms of CPU Cooler Potential?
P Cores are @ 5.1Ghz @ 1.43v with Level 3 LLC in CPUZ during Prime95 shows 1.4v during stress test.
E Cores are @ 4.0Ghz and
bus or ring is at 4.0Ghz
Ram @ 6000 Stock @ 1.35v I think? is this safe to run? long term within 2 years? seems stable Cine R20 is getting score of 7555 if that helps?

Question 2 , For gaming purposes only I was running P Cores @ 5.0Ghz @ 1.305v For over a Month no problem. Gain to get to 5.1Ghz from 1.3v to 1.4v seems a big jump
is it worth it? what other settings should I try?
Ambient Room temps is about 69F - 70F and I am running Thermal Grizzly Liquid Metal. DONT HAVE IT DELIDDED. My last cpu "8600k" was delidded lasted me all this time @ 5.1Ghz :D

Looks like you use a too high voltage for 5.1GHz. Try with something near 1.3V. At auto, it sets 1.4V+, and then it will have 250W+. At manual 1.25-1.30V it will have closer to 200W and won't overheat.

Here is 5.1GHz at 1.27V on the Colorful motherboard and Noctua NH-D12L cooler.
CVNZ690MFR_pic5.jpg