• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking The 3870x2 (Detailed Journey)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Saihossoku

Okay, so I'm not an expert on overclocking GPU's but I've read the FAQs and I thought I'd give it a try and I also decided to post my method as well as results. Now during this I have noticed some odd trends with overall stability and temperature fluctuations, hopefully one of the guru's on this site can take a look and give me advice on how I might get a better overclock as well as try and make heads or tails on my findings. So here we go....

Test 1

Obviously I went stock to run the first test to get a base 3DMark score as well as observe temperature trends.

Core Clock - 824MHz
Memory Clock - 900MHz
Fan Cycle - 25%
Temp (Peak) - 90c
3DMark06 - 11778

Test 2

Time to up the core clock a bit.

Core Clock - 844MHz
Memory Clock - 900MHz
Fan Cycle - 25%
Temp (Peak) - 80c
3DMark06 - 11769

Already noticed a strange occurrence, my temps went down 10c and my score actually went down a few points!? So back to default for another run, lets see what happens.

Test 3

Core Clock - 824MHz
Memory Clock - 900MHz
Fan Cycle - 25%
Temp (Peak) - 80c
3DMark06 - 11779

Seems to be an anomaly, lets move on.

Test 4

Lets up the clock a little more...

Core Clock - 857MHz
Memory Clock - 900MHz
Fan Cycle - 25%
Temp (Peak) - 80c
3DMark06 - 11713

Now this trend is alarming, my clock goes up but my score is going down!?

Test 5

Let's up both clocks and see what happens...

Core Clock - 891MHz
Memory Clock - 990MHz
Fan Cycle - 25%
Temp (Peak) - 80c
3DMark06 - 11917

That's better! my score has gone up a few hundos. :)

Test 6

Okay now lets up those clocks some more...

Core Clock - 918MHz
Memory Clock - 1020MHz
Fan Cycle - 25%
Temp (Peak) - 80c
3DMark06 - N/A