• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

phenom II x4 black edition

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rigit

Does this cpu support DDR3? I bought a gigabyte ge-880ga-ud3h board and it will only take ddr3. Like to get and x 6 but I can't find one reasonable. Either sold out or they want $220+ for it. I was looking at the 1075T as to help keep costs down but even then they want the same price.

Is it the same one as in your sig? I'm fairly certain that all Phenom IIs support DDR3 at 1333 at least, but I'm no expert.

You could always look for a 960T for a decent price and hope it unlocks. If it doesn't, you can overclock the heck out of it anyway.

Does this cpu support DDR3? I bought a gigabyte ge-880ga-ud3h board and it will only take ddr3. Like to get and x 6 but I can't find one reasonable. Either sold out or they want $220+ for it. I was looking at the 1075T as to help keep costs down but even then they want the same price.

CPU yes

There were two versions of Phenom II x4 BE when originally released. One was socket AM2+ which only supported DDR2. The other was socket AM3 which supported both DDR2 and DDR3.

Back in 2009, I bought a AM2+ Phenom II x4 940 which was DDR2 only.

There were two versions of Phenom II x4 BE when originally released. One was socket AM2+ which only supported DDR2. The other was socket AM3 which supported both DDR2 and DDR3.

Back in 2009, I bought a AM2+ Phenom II x4 940 which was DDR2 only.

:bang head For some reason I forgot about that though I only read about it.

Is it the same one as in your sig? I'm fairly certain that all Phenom IIs support DDR3 at 1333 at least, but I'm no expert.

You could always look for a 960T for a decent price and hope it unlocks. If it doesn't, you can overclock the heck out of it anyway.