• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Piece of cake e6850 @ 3.6ghz? Using P35 Neo mobo... any starting point?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MoonQuake

Hi everybody!

Like the title says. e6850 @ 3.6ghz is my goal. (I know, should be a piece of cake, but the semi-noob here has problems!)

I'm an amateur, so I understand basic OC concepts, I just never had to tinker with voltage that much in the past and I feel like I'll need to for this.
I also never toyed with memory timings. Anyways...

What's in the modest box:

Intel e6850 (G0) @ 3.0ghz (idle 22c - Load 55c)

MSI P35 Neo mobo - PDF Manual link, BIOS settings at page 38: (http://download2.msi.com/files/downloads/mnu_exe/E7360v1.0.zip)

4GB DDR2 Ram: 2x 1GB Corsair and 2x 1GB Kingston (PC2-6400 - 5,5,5,18)

MSI N250GTS GPU

1x 250Gb SATA HDD(boot) + 1x 120Gb IDE HDD

550w Antec PSU

Air cooling (decent)

22" Samsung monitor

Win 7 - 64bit Ultimate

==============================

I'd like to have some settings to start with if any of you guys have a similar setup.

I've tried a few settings based on other e6850 users, but I've had crashes (had to repair OS, lol) or freezes so I'm looking for a little help to get to that 3.6 with as few crashes as possible

With stock settings I can run Small, Large FFT and Blend tests in Prime for 24hrs. No problemo.

==============================
OC attempts so far:

All mobo settings set to "auto", SpeedStep disabled Max 9x multiplier):

3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4ghz OC's were successful. 3.5 is stablish, but behaves like 3.6 below.

3.6ghz @ 400 fsb - no vcore changes: BSOD or freezes at desktop.

3.6ghz @ 400 fsb - 1.3125v: stable for at least 5 min during Prime's Small and Large FFT stress tests, but FAILS after 5 seconds during Blend.