• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Setting a new connection with FIOS on multiple computers, Need oppion on router

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IKIKUINTHENUTZ

Ok finally on may 18 I will break away from this craptastic 56k dialup modem and get my brand new FIOS connection. Of course now I am introduced to networking and we have mutiple computers to hook up to the connection, I am buying a router.

So far I am planning to buy DGL 4300 GamerLounge Wireless $73.99 shipped free + tax at Fry's

Is this router good for beginners? or is there better alternatives for the price?

Im very new to this networking stuff :D

IKIKUINTHENUTZ said:
Ok finally on may 18 I will break away from this craptastic 56k dialup modem and get my brand new FIOS connection. Of course now I am introduced to networking and we have mutiple computers to hook up to the connection, I am buying a router.

So far I am planning to buy DGL 4300 GamerLounge Wireless $73.99 shipped free + tax at Fry's

Is this router good for beginners? or is there better alternatives for the price?

Im very new to this networking stuff :D

PLEASE DO NOT GET DLINK FOR GOD SAKES... i have gone through 3 dlink routers and all three dont forward ports right and are just crappy...

I have Fios (15mb / 2mbit) and i got a Linksys WRT54GL router... its amazing i run 2 servers constantly running traffic through the router (wired and wireless) and its been on since i plugged it in over 6 months ago with no dropouts... plus you can run dd-wrt on it and it makes it even better... and its very easy to setup. just plug it in and ur good... u can always login to the router by going to http://192.168.1.1