• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Setting up two harddrives

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sneveTsS

Registered
I multi-task a ton between gaming and multimedia use and I've recently purchased a new rig.

My setup is as follows:

e6600
8800GTS
2GB G-Skill RAM
ECGA nForce 680i SLI MOBO
Seagate barracuda 7200RPM 500GB
72GB WD Raptor

Now, I want to run all of my games off of one drive and everything else off of the other. I'm not really interested in running RAID (unless you would advise I do), however I would like the optimal setup for booting and loading my games.

So, my question is would you advise I boot off of my Seagate with all of my multimedia stuff on it, or boot from my raptor with my games on it? I'm new to the whole two harddrive setup, so I'm not sure the best route to take as far as performance goes -- I'm up for anything though.

Thanks for the help in advance.

sneveTsS said:
I multi-task a ton between gaming and multimedia use and I've recently purchased a new rig.

My setup is as follows:

e6600
8800GTS
2GB G-Skill RAM
ECGA nForce 680i SLI MOBO
Seagate barracuda 7200RPM 500GB
72GB WD Raptor

Now, I want to run all of my games off of one drive and everything else off of the other. I'm not really interested in running RAID (unless you would advise I do), however I would like the optimal setup for booting and loading my games.

So, my question is would you advise I boot off of my Seagate with all of my multimedia stuff on it, or boot from my raptor with my games on it? I'm new to the whole two harddrive setup, so I'm not sure the best route to take as far as performance goes -- I'm up for anything though.

Thanks for the help in advance.