• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Should I upgrade from the 4790k?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

blazenarrow

Hello there,

I am a photographer and digital artist. I use Photoshop, Lightroom, Premiere Pro, and other adobe products. I do a lot multi tasking, and basically I want to know if i'll notice a significant improvement if I upgraded. Also, I think I could still sell this set up for a reasonable price so thinking upgrade might be best bet.

Current system:

i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz
asrock extreme 6 z87
32 GB ddr3
500 GB SSD main drive
Geforce 970

If I upgrade, i'll be getting:
i7 8700k
Z370 mobo
500 GB samsung 970 m2
32GB ddr4

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:
:welcome:

None of the programs you mentioned use more then 4-6 cores, so benefits would be minimal AFAIK. But if its mainly for work why not buy the new Ryzen instead of Intel ? more cores and better multitasking for less $ :D

:welcome:

None of the programs you mentioned use more then 4-6 cores, so benefits would be minimal AFAIK. But if its mainly for work why not buy the new Ryzen instead of Intel ? more cores and better multitasking for less $ :D

Thanks for the reply. I have definitely considered the 2700X AMD, but it appears that for my main use (Adobe) clock rate is superior to core number: https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-Photoshop-CC-Multi-Core-Performance-625/

Also, isn't the 2700X only like $30 less than Intel? Where else would I save money?

He mentioned premiere. If doing video rendering, you can never have enough cores+GHz!!:clap::comp::burn:

Grab the standard 2700 and manually overclock it, should give roughly the same clocks as the 2700x and save ~$60. Also the motherboards tend to be cheaper on AMD side especially if you go for a B350 :thup: