• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Slipstream your favourite drivers into XP CD easily, hopefully no more floppy drive !

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bing

Low Profile Senior
Slipstream your favourite drivers into XP CD easily, hopefully no more floppy drive !

Of course, you'll need to do the slipstreaming itself 1st at a proper running computer and capable of burn the cd there like your current running one -> XPCreate

Already made my own new XP SP2 CD with all onboard devices drivers like Marvell ethernet, JMicron driver, Intel Raid for P5B-Deluxe except for the sound ! :D

slipstreaming is awesome. I made one for my parents so they can reinstall windows w/o user intervention if something goes wrong.

slipstreaming? man i'm a newb and a half... first time i heard that word

Slipstream is creating an alternate stream during the installation of the OS. Your slipping in an alteranate data stream(ADS). Basically you make a new fork during the install. It only exists to allow HSF. So that it will use both data and resource forks to store the content. Makes it handy to do a slipstream.

It is actually a loose term for what could be avery dangerous technique... ala viruses/ network hacks. If I remeber right it can even hide the true sizes of the files. Why it is never a great idea to grab a torrent of an install disk. While very useful it can be very dangerous.

If you read up on ADS (alternate data streams) you will get the concept of the "slipstream".