• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SpeedFan 4.40 utility-any good?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soldierguy

Hi all

I'm a computer noob and I'm looking for some sort of "fan monitoring/controller type utility" that I can run and use on my
desktop or whatever. Something that would allow me to see temps,voltages etc. And I just bumped into this item when I Googled-its a free tool
and all, but I don't know anything about this item or a "trusted"
location to download from etc.

Appreciate any help or suggested alternatives.

Thanks
Tom

Welcome to OCF.

SpeedFan is a utility that myself and many others have used for years. I'm using it right now, in fact... It's not the prettiest program, and sometimes it can get confused as to what sensor pertains to what part, and occasionally the sensors report weird data so you'll see things like temperatures alternating between 127C and -43C every few seconds, and the front left-end squeaks, but other than that, it works okay.

Homepage is here:

http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

Download link here:

http://www.almico.com/speedfan440.exe

For system monitoring you can also Google "CoolMon", which is an old program that does pretty much the same thing.

speedfan is great as long as it works with your motherboard and fans.. it doesnt work with everything, but it was awesome in my old gateway.. not so good for my current system which is why i got a manual sunbeam rheobus fan controller

Haha, sounds like a lovely solution perfect!! Let me add that half the time it doesnt control fan speeds on fans that should be able to be controlled by it as well. Though sadly, for software fan control outside the BIOS, it may be the best option especially on older systems. Otherwise, pony up the $35 and get a fan controller.