• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Will M.2 PCIe SSD work on Sabertooth 990FX R2?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

heyjude

Hi there. I am a complete noob at this. Just built my first gaming rig, specs below:

SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
AMD Fx-9590
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
GTX970
CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
CX750M CSU

I put in an old Kingston SSD I had laying around, but I'd like to get a newer on with faster read/write times. I've been reading a lot about the M.2 interface to add an SSD using PCIe x4 and it looks like the throughput is leaps and bounds better than a SATA SSD.

Here's what I've been looking at:
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SM951...GL-00000/dp/B00VELD92U/ref=pd_bxgy_147_text_y
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...ue&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_1&smid=A1YAK8U7QV5H1E

My question is, does the Sabertooth mobo have the lanes to support this and make it worthwhile? Will the BIOS recognize it and allow me to image it so I can use it as my boot drive?

Thanks so much, and please excuse my ignorance if my questions are not specif enough.

In addition if the board has no M2 slot then the bios may not see the M2 drive and not be able to boot from it or spend days trying to figure out what it is and not boot.

RGone...

no it will not work.
over an ssd it's not going to be worth it either, it will decrease your boot time, it will not do a thing for you in game.
forgive me, yes it will do something for you, add heat to your case.

Hi All,

I came across this thread while doing some research on the topic. I did get a M.2 SSD installed in a Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 board. These posts are from a while ago and since then, Asus came out with a updated Bios version which is required for this to work.