Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

WHy does my ping suck?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-11, 11:20 AM Thread Starter   #1
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
WHy does my ping suck?


I get good ping to websites through command line-- 30ms or so, but I get awful ping in many games, like SC2 and BFBC2. BC2 often shows me over 100ms. Sometimes more.

My LAN controller is the Intel controller on the Rampage III Formula. Router is a BEFSR41 Lynksis wired. Live in a building. 11th floor. Built 2 or 3 years ago. Downloads are fast at 2.5-3MB/s and speedtest reads me @ 25mbit/s

what's up?

__________________
2600K @4.8Ghz*Maximus IV Extreme*GTX 580
2x4GB Gskill 1600Mhz*Intel510 120GB SSD
WD Velociraptor 150GB HDD*HX850*NH-D14
Theocnoob is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-04-11, 11:30 AM   #2
anhikilator
Member



Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miami, FL

 
I play battlefield bc 2 and it's really hard for me to get pings lower than 100. I think it's just the game since when I play L4D2 i get 30ms. I play sc2 too and never had issues with it.

Just trust speed test. What's the upload results? Game pings are not always related to the quality of your connection (I have comcast 50mbps). Try different servers.

__________________
CPU: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5 | MB: Asrock Z77 Extreme 6
VGA: 2 x Gigabyte GTX 770 4GB OC SLI | Memory: Corsair 32GB 1866Hz
OS Drive: 2 x Samsung 840 250GB Raid 0 | Storage Drive: 2 x Seagate 2TB 7200rmp 64MB Raid 0
Power Supply: Seasonic Gold 850W | Case: NZXT 810 Switch | Cooling: Swiftech H220
Monitor: Dell U2713HM 2560x1440p | Sound: Sound Blaster Z
Keyboard
: Logitech G710+ | Mouse: Logitech G500 | Pad: Steelseries 9HD
Headphones: Sennheiser PC 350 SE | Desktop Speakers: M-Audio Studiophile AV40
anhikilator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-04-11, 12:04 PM   #3
madhatter256
Special Member ★

 
madhatter256's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CFL

 
SC2 and BFBC2 use a centralized server that is almost always filled with connections. 100 ping is good.

I've always had 'high' ping in the battlefield games (since 1942) and had low ping in CS Servers. So I just dealt with it..

__________________
Folding User Stats
Heatware
madhatter256 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-04-11, 03:39 PM   #4
DreamerBrian
Member

 
DreamerBrian's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle

 
You could always play COD and get fast latency since no one plays :P

__________________
Yayer.
DreamerBrian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-04-11, 04:49 PM   #5
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
Live in a building. 11th floor. Built 2 or 3 years ago.
Sick, have any pictures?

Anyways, never played the game but can you filter for servers in your general location? I know I get bad pings out here in Phoenix when I game at 7 am and it's just because all the populated servers are on the East coast.

Hope you get it solved!
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-04-11, 06:22 PM   #6
DaveHCYJ
Senior Member

 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Diego

 
Its not always your end thats the problem, it could just be the servers on the other end, or the route through the internet to get to them. Nothing you can do about distance, unless they have a geographically closer server you can connect to.

__________________

Main Rig
i5 2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.296v | Noctua NH-D14 | Asus P8P67 Deluxe | 2x4GB g.skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Gigabyte GTX570 OC | Intel 330 120GB, 2x1TB WD Blue | SeaSonic X-650 | Coolermaster ATCS 840

Server
C2Duo E6600 @2.4GHz | stock cooling | Asus P5 Deluxe | 4x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-800
EVGA 8800GTS | 500GB Seagate, 2TB WD Green, 1TB WD Green | SeaSonic S12II 520 | Coolermaster ATCS 201

DaveHCYJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-04-11, 08:24 PM   #7
Jmtyra
Premium Member #21



 
Jmtyra's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dallas/Fort-Worth

 
You could do a trace route (tracert) to see where the latency is spiking.
Then again, as others have said, it's probably due to the centralized server you are accessing.

Jmtyra is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?