• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Oc'd amd XP 2500+ running 51 celcius??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rdrash

Senior Member, Benching Team Member
I am sure this question and others like it has been asked more than a few times. However, I am concerned and want to make certain that I am ok, as such I am a newbie...so please be kind. I have my AMD XP 2500+ (barton core) running as a XP 3000+ right now (Mother board is Shuttle AN35N Ultra, I bumped FSb to 200 from 166 and changed cpu multiplier from 11 to 10.5 , my ram is DDR 400), everything seems fine but I see that my cpu temperature is at 51 celcius (with no big load). I wonder if this is a safe temperature. I have been to AMD and other places, i know that AMD says this processor can run at 85 celcius temperature, but I would like to ensure I have not created a situation where i will lose some performance. I am using a stock heat sink and fan and I have three case fans. My case temperature is 38 celcius, and a third sensor (not sure where or what, maybe power supply?) is reporting 47 celcius. I would appreciate any comments and or suggestion that you want to share. I appologize for my "STUPID" question, this is my first post and I am just learning.

personaly for me, anything over 45c is too high
i guess for air cooling, over 50c is warning temp. which means, you're walking on thin ice. If u get up to 60c (which isn't far away) at load temp, you'll probably start running into problems like stability issues.
47 is probably your NB temp..
what is ur room temp? 38c is very very high case temp, could be the root of your problem if you do not have enough exaust fans.
IMO, if you're getting such high temps, you should consider running stock speeds until you get sufficient cooling for your computer.

Update