• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

case modding

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hookj5

Is there a fan setup that fits in one of my empty bays. that seem like a good place to add an intake fan. I am new at this so please tell me if is a stupid idea and why. thanks

well first of all, the general principle to cooling with fans is cool air intake bottom, hot air exhaust top - so the flow would be in bottom, out the top

im not sure what u mean by empty bays, as in cd drive bays? thats not exactly the best place to put one...its better to have one for intake on the bottom of the case

and thats not such a bad idea, everybody has some crazy ideas once in a while, u learn from ur mistakes :D

Though dalilman's cool air in bottom hot out top idea is good it is not necissary (the fact that heat "rises" has almost not effect when you take into account the air pushed around by all the fans), unless you have some super complicated idea that will work you really just need to be consistant, cool in bottom hot out top or cool in front hot out back visa versa, whatever. Just be consistent.
That being said you can get drive covers that have some fans in them or you can get a few (probably 3) 40mm fans and they should fit in one bay just fine if you wanna cut some holes.You could also do what I did and use 2 open drive bays to fit an 80mm fan in there, if you had 3 bays open you could fit a 120mm fan in there. (that is if you did in fact mean CD drive bays.)

If you just want to put an 80mm fan in the front of your HDD bay that sould work, most 3 or 4 slot 3.5in bays will fit an 80mm or 92mm fan in them quite well so all you need to do us cut out a spot for it to pull the air in.

MainComputerSmallFront.jpg

Last edited: