• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

rdram question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Matt761

im currently running pc800 memory. i hear they wil be coming oiut with a new faster rdram (i think it was like 1060 or something). Wil it work if i bought the new ram and put it on my mofo or would i have to buy a new one?

I'm not an expert on RAM but I think you can run faster ram on a slower mobo. But not vise versa. How much can you o/c your fsb? I heard ASUS is comming out with a mobo that will take those 1066 sticks to the limit. ASUS P4T533. Be nice if they included 0+1 133 raid support.

i cant wait for that new ram, is it gonna be expensive though? with this new asus board, the p4t533 or whatever its called, can you use the soon-to-be-old-tech northwood's that use 100x4 fsb with the 133x4 board? (im planning on overclocking anyways though), and wahts with the ram? if the new 1060mhz ram or whatever is really expensive then can i use pc800 on it?

I would think it could work but since I'm an o/c wannabe right now don't take my word.

I'm wondering if it would be better to run the 2.4/400 or the 2.4/533 Northwood on this mobo? It seems you would have more o/c overhead with the 400 fsb CPU.

i guess thats true, plus the architecture for both cpus are the exact same thing just set with a 133x4 fsb instead of 100x4. undoubtedly the 2.4 with a 133x4 fsb will be much more expensive, so i think you should go with the 400fsb one, cause if you're gonna oc it it's the exact same thing as the higher fsb version.

Let's see...

Pump up that locked CPU to 3.6/600 and some of those 1066 or 1200 Samsung RDRAM sticks...

Might work...