Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    CA

    Volt modding a PIII 667

    Is it possible to volt mod a PIII 667 (copermine)? How would you do that and how much does it up the voltage?
    thanks guys

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Earth
    I haven't done the P3 677 C-mine, but I have voltage modded two Celeron 733s and a Celeron 850 -- all of which are coppermine core. Basically I chose to set my base voltage at 1.9 volts on the two 733s and 1.95 on the 850. You can choose what you want the voltage boosted to based on which pins you connect.

    I've run the 733's at 1066 Mhz for several months without incident. They will both run at 1122 with coaxing, but it requires more voltage and I don't want damage.

    I run the 850 at 1097 MHz. It will run at 1147 or something like that with coaxing, but again, I don't want the extra voltage and I don't want damage.

    Dave

  3. #3
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Xenia OH
    Yes it is possible...assuming you have a FCPGA chip rather than slot-1.

    The pins you need to connect depends on the default voltage of your CPU (which mainly depends on the stepping). Please let us know what the default voltage on your CPU is.

  4. #4
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Like was said, which pins to connect depend on what the default voltage is and how much modified voltage you wamt.

    http://www.overclockers.com/tips630/
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    CA
    The default voltage I believe is 1.65v I want to up it to 1.75v. Yes, it is a FCPGA. I guess thats all you need to know.

  6. #6
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Sorry dude. The 1.65v default coppermines have the least possible ways to VID pin. The only choice you have is to connect VID3 to VSS for a modified default of 2.05v which is really way too high.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Earth
    The man is right, and it sucks. Never liked the B0 that stepping.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    CA
    Eeeks! So I really limited to how high my mobo can increase, Oh well thanks

  9. #9
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    One thing you can do, is wire wrap the VID pins for 2.05v, but then always run the voltage with a lower BIOS "user define" vcore. For example: my 2.0a P-4 was wire wrapped for 1.85v modified voltage, but I usually had it set at 1.7v or 1.75v. Set the BIOS voltage for "user define" at a reasonable voltage before doing the wire wrap. The only danger is if you ever have to clear the CMOS, the BIOS will revert back to all default settings and will think the 2.05v is default (because the wire wrap fools the BIOS). But, if you ever need to clear the CMOS, then you can always remove the VID pin wires first.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •