Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30
  1. #1
    Member Dragonprince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,838

    AMD 90nm hit's 3 Ghz !!

    Of course without SLi I don't see any point to a 3 Ghz (AMD) rig right now...but anyway, read on !

    http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...09&articID=231


  2. #2
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    10,656
    Uhhh, yawn. 3 gigs on phase change was done over a year ago. Most of the pro's are past 3.2-3.3 now.

    FX55's do close to 2.9 on air...

    And furthermore, that's not even 90nm, it's a 130nm Clawhammer.
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

  3. #3
    Member meionm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,703
    that's all on vapo?
    Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

    Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

    HEATWARE

  4. #4
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Banned Camp
    Posts
    6,917
    Interesting.


    600Mhz more for 0.1 FPS.

  5. #5
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    10,656
    It's all worth it.
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

  6. #6
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    Interesting...clockspeeds continue to inflate.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by 9mmCensor
    Interesting.


    600Mhz more for 0.1 FPS.
    that's called being "videocard limited"
    they should try "640x480"...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    169
    like this:




  9. #9
    dippy_skoodlez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    In front of my computer
    Posts
    1,439
    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam
    Uhhh, yawn. 3 gigs on phase change was done over a year ago. Most of the pro's are past 3.2-3.3 now.

    FX55's do close to 2.9 on air...

    And furthermore, that's not even 90nm, it's a 130nm Clawhammer.

    Now, 3ghz on AIR will be a feat

    Still on 2.8Ghz and counting though...
    Retina Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz, 16GB DDR3, 512GB SSD, GT650m
    i7 5820K @ 3.6ghz, 16gb DDR4, 2x eVGA GTX 670, 850w HALE90, NZXT Switch 810, Water cooled.
    My Heatware

  10. #10
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    10,656
    I guess thou shalt not steal...
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

  11. #11
    Member ZachM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Middle of Cow Country (Central Ok)
    Posts
    1,473
    Indeed. I never thought processors at 3 GHz would cause the wrath of god to rain down on us. Lol. I think Madshrimps does not like people remote linking their images. That means upload 'em to your own host. Heh. Of course give proper credit.

  12. #12
    Member yanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    West Java, ID
    Posts
    198
    hey.. the pics can't be hotlinked..
    Epox 8k3a | 256MB RAM | Duron@1300 | gf4ti | Thermaltake TWV Xaser 480W APFC
    2 x ECS K7SOM| 128MB RAM | Duron@850 | Fortron FSP 300W

    folding for team 32.

  13. #13
    Member yanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    West Java, ID
    Posts
    198
    just for curiosity..

    http://www.madshrimps.be/articles/AMDAthlonFXoverclockingto3Ghz:Creatinga-jmke-4496.jpg

    http://www.madshrimps.be/articles/AMDAthlonFXoverclockingto3Ghz:Creatinga-jmke-4507.jpg

    you have afx, you have vapochill, and you will have amd64 3ghz for sure..
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Epox 8k3a | 256MB RAM | Duron@1300 | gf4ti | Thermaltake TWV Xaser 480W APFC
    2 x ECS K7SOM| 128MB RAM | Duron@850 | Fortron FSP 300W

    folding for team 32.

  14. #14
    Member jmke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by yanz
    you have afx, you have vapochill, and you will have amd64 3ghz for sure..
    not necassarly, not all FX CPU's will clock to 3ghz using Phase-change cooling
    Editor @ [M]adshrimps
    Master of Engrish language ;) support guru

  15. #15
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008
    the fx-55 has hit 3.8 ghz already...

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  16. #16
    Member Dragonprince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,838
    Quote Originally Posted by Aphex_Tom_9
    the fx-55 has hit 3.8 ghz already...
    Dude post a link! I want to read that.


    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam
    Uhhh, yawn. 3 gigs on phase change was done over a year ago. Most of the pro's are past 3.2-3.3 now.

    FX55's do close to 2.9 on air...

    And furthermore, that's not even 90nm, it's a 130nm Clawhammer.
    LOL, damn I just realized it was a 53 and not a 55 (Homer voice - DOOOOHH!)
    No less impressive though, if only to show GPU's are not that far ahead as many seem to believe...

  17. #17
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  18. #18
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    10,656
    Now that's what I'm talking about.
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

  19. #19
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    3.8GHz screenshot but probably not 3dmarkable past 3.5GHz I want 3GHz air cooled but it looks like amds having trouble what that

  20. #20
    dippy_skoodlez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    In front of my computer
    Posts
    1,439
    Quote Originally Posted by Overclocker550
    3.8GHz screenshot but probably not 3dmarkable past 3.5GHz I want 3GHz air cooled but it looks like amds having trouble what that

    not quite man. Im almost breaking 2.8ghz on an old AXP! thats with room temp air going through my SLK too.

    Give me a PSU >350W and when it snows, I'll pipe air in straight from outside. 3ghz is on its way
    Retina Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz, 16GB DDR3, 512GB SSD, GT650m
    i7 5820K @ 3.6ghz, 16gb DDR4, 2x eVGA GTX 670, 850w HALE90, NZXT Switch 810, Water cooled.
    My Heatware

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •