Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. #1

    Plz help with Overclocking amd KUMA 7750

    Hello all

    I have been building for a while but am not the most knowledgeable about over clocking. I know enough to get by before but now i need to know more apparently because I have run into a wall.

    Here are my specs:

    nvidia 8800gt
    Antec 900 case
    585 w psu
    4 gb dual channel corsair dominator ram @ 533 mhz and voltage at 2.2
    ECS A780GM-A Black edition
    AMD KUMA 7750 overclocked at 2800 mhz (14x at 1.45 volts)

    The cpu will not do ANY MORE than this. Everytime i set the multiplier at 15x at any voltage and stress with prime it crashes

    I have a friend of mine with the same specs pretty much and he is ocing this cpu at 3300 mhz easy,

    SOMEONE PLEASE HELP OR GIVE ME SUGGESTIONS!

  2. #2
    juane414's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Does your friend have the same motherboard? I haven't seen many promising reviews regarding the overclocking ability of ECS motherboards...

    Do you have cool 'n quiet/power now! disabled? Do you have the PCI Express frequency set to 100Mhz? Make sure you do that first.

    Are you overclocking the CPU clock frequency, or are you only increasing the CPU multiplier? If you're OC'ing the CPU frequency then make sure you drop the memory voltage. If you don't, you will be OC'ing the memory as you increase the CPU frequency since they are tied together.

    If you're only increasing the CPU multiplier and you can't get the system stable even with a CPU voltage increase then I would be inclined to say that your motherboard just can't go any higher.

    CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
    GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
    SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
    PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
    Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
    Folding User Stats

  3. #3
    i have c and q disabled. He has an ecs board just not this exact one. I tried overclocking with AMD overdrive then with the bios, using the multiplier and voltage only. I set the RAM and forgot about it I havent changed anything with it.

  4. #4
    juane414's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Is your RAM 2x2gb or 4x1gb? Also, is that DDR2 800 your running? Is 2.2v stock for that memory? It seems a high to me for stock memory voltage...

    CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
    GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
    SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
    PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
    Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    the ram is 2 x 2gb ddr2 1066

    the ram vol is so high because i set the speed to 533 mhz and the dimm number to 50 in the bios and the ram vol climbed

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    nzaneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Set your memory voltage and timings manually in the BIOS, not to AUTO. Then continue with the OC. If you're still seeing problems, try slowing the ram to 800 spd, and maybe some looser timings. What PSU are you using? What is your cooling situation, stock HSF? The 900 should have good case Air flow, unless you have a MAJOR rats nest in there. Any loaded temp readings for us?
    N-Zane-B
    Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
    Join us on the benching team
    !


  7. #7
    cpu temps while being stressed at overclocking is anywhere from 42 c to 52 c

    stock cpu fan and heat sink but the 900 case is awesome in cooling

  8. #8
    so if i set the multiplier to 15x and adjust the voltage, move the ram speed back down what else can i do to make it have a better chance of being stable

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    nzaneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    A CPU NB Voltage bump might help you out. 1 increment above stock. What do your HT and NB speeds look like?
    N-Zane-B
    Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
    Join us on the benching team
    !


  10. #10
    "The Expert" Archer0915's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Carolina University Grad School
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by TrojanTboneGuy View Post
    Hello all

    I have been building for a while but am not the most knowledgeable about over clocking. I know enough to get by before but now i need to know more apparently because I have run into a wall.

    Here are my specs:

    nvidia 8800gt
    Antec 900 case
    585 w psu
    4 gb dual channel corsair dominator ram @ 533 mhz and voltage at 2.2
    ECS A780GM-A Black edition
    AMD KUMA 7750 overclocked at 2800 mhz (14x at 1.45 volts)

    The cpu will not do ANY MORE than this. Everytime i set the multiplier at 15x at any voltage and stress with prime it crashes

    I have a friend of mine with the same specs pretty much and he is ocing this cpu at 3300 mhz easy,

    SOMEONE PLEASE HELP OR GIVE ME SUGGESTIONS!
    Is 2.2 your default V for that memory?
    Try dropping volts to stock as a matter of fact update bios if you have not yet done it make sure everything is default and begin again you should be able to hit 3.0 at AMD max recommended V 1.325 (set this manually)
    People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
    Current Active Fleet:
    Daily Driver i7 3740QM T530
    Work Rig/networked backup - i7 4770K@4.4, 24GB Ram, 7850 GFX Bedroom PC - i7 870 @ 3.4, 16GB Ram, 6670 GFX
    Home School PC (daughter) SB Celery @1.6, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFX Living Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram
    Game Rig's (kids)- 3570K@4.7, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT|2X A8 5500 boys toys
    Test Bed - In flux


  11. #11
    Senior Member
    nzaneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by TrojanTboneGuy View Post
    The cpu will not do ANY MORE than this. Everytime i set the multiplier at 15x at any voltage and stress with prime it crashes
    What stress test are you using? Small FFT's or Blend? Small FFT's will isolate the CPU as much as possible. If you're failing with that test, we're going the wrong direction. If you're failing the Blend test, then Memory could very likely be the culprit.
    N-Zane-B
    Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
    Join us on the benching team
    !


  12. #12
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    ^^ good point. I used to fail every blend test and went to small fft's and realized you can't run 1000+ mhz ram with 1.8 volts...
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  13. #13
    ok so i set the bios back to default, so the ram speed is 400 mhz and stock voltage around 1.8 i think,

    i am setting the multiplier at 15x at 1.335. i have been stressing with prime with blend so maybe you are right, its maybe too high of a ram vol? if i want my ddr 2 1066 to run at 533 mhz then i will do that after i am successful at the oc?

    the dimmv is at 12 now, it was at 50

    the stock is 2.2 volts for the ram btw

    and coll and quiet is off and cpu virtualization is disabled

  14. #14
    "The Expert" Archer0915's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Carolina University Grad School
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Cool glad you are up and running some mobo's have problems getting clean 2.2v so you may want to get it to 3.1 with the multi then start ramping up the HT adding v as needed. when you start getting errors then the fun begins as you will have to go back and forth between MEM and CPU to find the problem or you can go ahead (I would do this) and find the max CPU back off a hair and then work with the memory independent of all other factors.
    People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
    Current Active Fleet:
    Daily Driver i7 3740QM T530
    Work Rig/networked backup - i7 4770K@4.4, 24GB Ram, 7850 GFX Bedroom PC - i7 870 @ 3.4, 16GB Ram, 6670 GFX
    Home School PC (daughter) SB Celery @1.6, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFX Living Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram
    Game Rig's (kids)- 3570K@4.7, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT|2X A8 5500 boys toys
    Test Bed - In flux


  15. #15
    so with the multiplier at 15x and vols a 1.335 its blue screen at boot up so what changes do i need to make with ram speed and voltage to match the ocing

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    nzaneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by TrojanTboneGuy View Post
    so with the multiplier at 15x and vols a 1.335 its blue screen at boot up so what changes do i need to make with ram speed and voltage to match the ocing
    what are the recommended timings for your ram? If it states that it needs 2.2V then set the RAM voltage to 2.2V. If default is only feeding it 1.8, that could equal a BSOD. So try 400mhz speed, 2.2V, and manually enter the recommended timings. 14.5x CPU multi and Core voltage to 1.325V (stock)
    N-Zane-B
    Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
    Join us on the benching team
    !


  17. #17
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    ^^ always manually put your ram timings in because as you raise the FSB, your ram speed increases and it loosens your timings a tad.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  18. #18
    "The Expert" Archer0915's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Carolina University Grad School
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    1066 @ 800 try 1.9v should eliminate doubt
    People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
    Current Active Fleet:
    Daily Driver i7 3740QM T530
    Work Rig/networked backup - i7 4770K@4.4, 24GB Ram, 7850 GFX Bedroom PC - i7 870 @ 3.4, 16GB Ram, 6670 GFX
    Home School PC (daughter) SB Celery @1.6, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFX Living Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram
    Game Rig's (kids)- 3570K@4.7, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT|2X A8 5500 boys toys
    Test Bed - In flux


  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    folding in Louisiana
    granted I am a noob and all, but I just upped the multiplier and hit a stable 3.3 according to the bios, cpu-z, core temp, and prime95 didnt crash it and temps never got over 44*. Granted I only ran Prime95 for like 20 minutes before quitting. Maybe you should consider starting over and just looking at the basics

  20. #20
    "The Expert" Archer0915's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Carolina University Grad School
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    post 10 this did work to a point:
    Quote Originally Posted by Archer0915 View Post
    Is 2.2 your default V for that memory?
    Try dropping volts to stock as a matter of fact update bios if you have not yet done it make sure everything is default and begin again you should be able to hit 3.0 at AMD max recommended V 1.325 (set this manually)
    ECS is not considered an OC'er board it can clock up but generally they take more work, don't get as high or as stable oc from what I have read so that must be overcome. Let us not judge, let us help.
    Last edited by Archer0915; 04-17-09 at 08:04 AM.
    People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
    Current Active Fleet:
    Daily Driver i7 3740QM T530
    Work Rig/networked backup - i7 4770K@4.4, 24GB Ram, 7850 GFX Bedroom PC - i7 870 @ 3.4, 16GB Ram, 6670 GFX
    Home School PC (daughter) SB Celery @1.6, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFX Living Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram
    Game Rig's (kids)- 3570K@4.7, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT|2X A8 5500 boys toys
    Test Bed - In flux


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •