Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    NE OK
    Posts
    622

    Dual-core Atom D525 good for PoS and internet?

    Well, I bought a mini-ITX board w/Athlon x2 64 to build a decent little computer for my mom's store. However, somehow, I think I killed the MB. No power-up, no nothing. Probably pushed too hard when installing the 24-pin power connector. Anyways, I'm looking for options... not many mini-ITX options left out there retail to use that processor, so... I'm looking into this passively-cooled Atom.

    The computer doesn't have to do much... just surf the net and do remote login to another location to access the server to run the sales software (ManageMore) off a Server2003 machine. No real video outside of maybe the occasional YouTube video or something. Onboard Intel GMA3150 graphics for that. No 1080p, not even 720p... ever. This is strictly a work computer and needs only be reliable and run the above applications.

    In addition, as I mentioned, I bought a mini-ITX case for this build, so I'd like to find some way to use it. I also bought a new PSU for it, in favor of scrapping the stock 250W PSU, but now I'm thinking if I go with the Atom dual-core, I might be able to go back to the stock generic and put the Seasonic I bought in some other system.

    So what do you think? Is the Atom dual-core D525 good enough to run a point-of-sale system and simple web-browser for a business? Thanks!

    <edit> I've picked out 4 gigs of RAM (DDR3 SO-DIMM) and it will be running Windows 7 (32-bit? 64?) most likely.

    Here's the combo I'm looking at.
    Intel Core i7 2600k
    ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z
    Corsair Vengeance 4GBx4 DDR3 1600
    ASUS Matrix GTX 580 Platinum
    Enermax Revolution 850 watt modular PSU
    Rosewill Thor2 full tower
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


    HEAT

  2. #2
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,373
    Yeah, an Atom should be just fine for that kind of thing. It won't be zippy, but it should handle those tasks no problem. 4GB of RAM is good, 2GB is probably also fine. I suppose RAM is cheap enough these days to make it pointless to get much less than 4GB.

    I don't trust Rosewill PSUs (notice their case + PSU cost less than the Seasonic PSU alone) so I think the Seasonic is a safer choice if you want something reliable that you won't have to bother with too much in the future.
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  3. #3
    Member wingman99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    8,750
    +1 yes a safer corsair or seasonic psu.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  4. #4
    loss.jpg
    Premium Member #25
    Realee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    366
    3rded.

    If you want something reliable you want a good PSU. A bit more cost but a lifetime longer lasting =)
    I.M.O.G. Because Australia. ;)

  5. #5
    Member

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    NE OK
    Posts
    622
    The problem with the PSU is that it will not let me install my CD-ROM... I bought a SATA CD-ROM, but the larger PSU takes up too much of the case. Maybe I'll look on the Egg and see if I can find a shorter CD-RW or something.
    Intel Core i7 2600k
    ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z
    Corsair Vengeance 4GBx4 DDR3 1600
    ASUS Matrix GTX 580 Platinum
    Enermax Revolution 850 watt modular PSU
    Rosewill Thor2 full tower
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


    HEAT

  6. #6
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,373
    Bummer. How close is it?
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  7. #7
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Posts
    15,547
    You can get pretty cheap external slim CDRW drives these days as well.

    Also: look at the AMD E350 chips that come pre-affixed to the board as a potential alternative to Atom. They ought to have a superior iGPU.
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  8. #8
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,373
    Yeah, if you can get a cheaper E-350 that's a good alternative. But I'd imagine the two would perform similarly for this use (the E-350 does have better graphics like David said) but I would say look at price first, and if they're both the same or the E-350 is cheaper, get the E-350.
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  9. #9
    loss.jpg
    Premium Member #25
    Realee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    366
    Quote Originally Posted by tRdoc View Post
    The problem with the PSU is that it will not let me install my CD-ROM... I bought a SATA CD-ROM, but the larger PSU takes up too much of the case. Maybe I'll look on the Egg and see if I can find a shorter CD-RW or something.
    Does the machine need a CD-ROM POST installation?
    Might be easier to leave it out or as above - go external =)
    I.M.O.G. Because Australia. ;)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •