• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AM3+ Advice?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ctag

Hi :)

I'm one month out from my absolute deadline to finish a new desktop for college (as in, I move out in a month, and need this computer working). For the most part, all's been good and dandy, I even joined the OC folding team! :D

Something I noticed when I was putting the computer together was how odd AMD's stock heatsink is, it's got a solid copper base which strikes me as high-quality, but it appears to also be very space-minded and has a very small fan that keeps me up at night with it's noise (oh, and the PWM lead broke off of its mobo connector..)

So I got a Cooler Master 101, which stated it would work with AM3/AM3+.. But it doesn't. At all. There are little grooves for a lever (like the stock one) to hold it down, but it didn't come with a lever, and the stock one doesn't fit :rain:
I'm at a loss, I can't return it because I damaged one of the copper pipes while trying to get the stock lever to work with it, and now I'm scared to randomly buy another heatsink..

Is there a specific model heatsink that someone could reccomend to me? I'm looking to spend less than $60 on this next one, I have a smallish case (4-5 inches vert clearance), Corsair Vengeance RAM (tall fins), and would like to do childish overclocking (with the built in utility).

Thanks!,

if you have room for a 120mm fan you should consider one of the corsair water cooling loops. as long as you dont plan on doing anything extreme on it. im having the same problem. but im building a custom water cooling loop. but thats going to take some money.

Thanks YAMA,
I noticed some water cooling sets on Amazon that were just inside my price range

http://www.amazon.com/Antec-Kuhler-...&qid=1342394385&sr=8-6&keywords=am3++heatsink