• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Why Is My 2600k Not Overclocked/Not Working Properly?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TwoPlusTwo

Registered
I apologize if these are stupid questions or if I'm missing something obvious; I'm kinda new to the whole enthusiast PC thing.

I have a Core i7 2600k and my motherboard is ASUS P8Z77-V.

This link shows somebody with the same CPU and mobo as I have. The top picture shows the CPU overclocking screen on the motherboard.

In the spoiler tag below you can see my screen (sorry, crappy cell phone shot):

015yhu.jpg

103x43=4429.

But the BIOS says it is only running at 3520:

016uyg.jpg

It gets more confusing. My CPU seems to be able to "boost" itself to 4.4 GHz but this is unreliable and doesn't always work when needed.

In the Hitman Absolution benchmark tool, I get much worse performance than people with similar systems. I get at the very most 50% performance out of each GPU (I have 2 680s) and an average framerate of around 40 FPS.

So then I downloaded a program called HWINFO64 that has a CPU Logger. Look at the "Logging Start" button in the pic below:

loggerx.jpg

OK so if I press "Logging Start" and THEN run the Hitman Absolution benchmark tool, I get up to over 90% usage from both GPUs and average framerate of over 60 FPS!

In other words:
Computer normal...40-50% GPU usage, 40 FPS
Press "Logging Start" to run logger...70-90+% GPU usage, 60+ FPS.

I'm lost. How can I OC this CPU so that it always works?

I don't understand. :bang head

I would ask the OP to start at the beginning and ask what proper programs he has to monitor and test his set up?? The once we have the answer to that, the next stage is to go thought the Bios and sort out the settings! Then after that we can fine tune his OC and then we should about good to go.