Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

CPU temp increase during virus scan?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-13, 12:34 AM Thread Starter   #1
ExecuteOrder66
Registered

 
ExecuteOrder66's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

 
CPU temp increase during virus scan?


I just installed Kaspersky PC protection and did a full scan on my system. My CPU temp was up at 65 degrees centigrade and would hover between 58 and 66. Has anyone heard of this before? It doesn't seem normal.

__________________
Steam and XFire ID: XecuteOrder66

"Try not. Do or do not. There is no try" - Yoda
ExecuteOrder66 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 12:40 AM   #2
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
Virus scanning requires alot of CPU time. The program is analyzing almost every file on the drive for malicious code signatures. Not knowing what CPU you have 65C is either on the edge of to hot, or well within the normal operational range.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 02:15 AM Thread Starter   #3
ExecuteOrder66
Registered

 
ExecuteOrder66's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

 
I'm running an AMD FX-8350 8-Core Black Edition
ExecuteOrder66 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 02:29 AM   #4
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
65C is right on the limits of what you want to put an AMD CPU through. I have run my 8320 up to 70C running Folding @ Home for weeks on end without a problem. That said you probably want to invest into a better cooler.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 10:36 AM Thread Starter   #5
ExecuteOrder66
Registered

 
ExecuteOrder66's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

 
It's not my cooling system. I run nice and chilly at 35 idle, and decent temps while multitasking/gaming. Its only when I run my virus scan that my core cpu usage goes up to like 80% and starts heating up. Wierd as hell.

__________________
Steam and XFire ID: XecuteOrder66

"Try not. Do or do not. There is no try" - Yoda
ExecuteOrder66 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 10:46 AM   #6
Desync
Member

 
Desync's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alabama

 
I would say 35 isn't nice and chilly unless you mean 35 f.

My 8120 runs around 27-28 idle and still bumps 66c under full load.

Which CPU cooler do you use?
Desync is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-13, 12:26 PM   #7
Johan45
Senior Member

 
Johan45's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ontario,Canada

 
If you're hitting 65 at an 80% load you really DO need to do something about your cooling

__________________
CPU : AMD FX 8350, FX 9370,FX-6350 Mobo : ASUS CHV FORMULA Z ///// Intel i7 4770k / ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO
Cooler :Koolance 380A/Phobya Supernova 1260//////////////////////////// Shared rad and Koolance 380i
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133//////////////////////////////////////////////G.SkillTridentX 2400 CL9
Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280 //////////////////////////////ASUS DCUII GTX770
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb
OS : Win7 Pro
Case : Banchetto 101
PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum
Monitor : Asus 27"

HTPC : FX-6350 , CM V-8 , ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win8 Pro
Johan45 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?