• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Not able to access Samba on this computer..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kyij

I have been using samba from my main server for many months now without a problem. But I moved and let the fun begin.. :bang head

My network is currently as follows:

Cable modem -> Wireless Router -> Switch box -> Server/other PC's
.....................................................-> The odroid machine (with samba problems)

The odroid machine with has the samba connection issues can see all of the network locations but has permissions issues. I enter my name/password and it tells me to re-enter it over and over. These issues occur with XBMC and with the native file browsing w/ gui. This odroid runs Debian 7.6 as well as my Server does too.

This computer worked before, I believe with:

Cable modem -> Switch box -> Server/other PC's
..............................................-> Router-> The odroid machine (with samba problems)

But it stopped working at one point which lead me to change the config.

(Notes)
1. I have connected the odroid machine directly to the switch which also contains the server - so it is not an issue with my router.
2. I have replaced my original modem that acted like a modem/wireless router/switch with just a standalone version, problem persists.
3. I have restarted every machine on this network..
4. Every other wireless/wired computer on the network works without problem connecting to the share (with the same user/pass)
5. I have reinstalled the ROM that is running on the odroid device -> I have tried before running "apt-get update" and after.
6. You have to remember I was connected fine for 12 hours while I watched shows. When I went to use it the next day is when I had problems..? (all variables were kept same then).