• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fractal R4 water loop question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

matrixter

Hey, im a beginner, never done this before, so I need to know if one 240mm rad is enough to water cool a 4770k probably going to be around 4.5-4.7ghz at 1.215v-how ever many volts it takes to get higher, and a gtx 770, I havent really tested the cpu too much yet bc I onlt have a hyper 212 evo, I just put this system together (it was my first ever build) so im new to all of this: overclocking, water cooling, etc. I actually just tested my cpu just to test its potential, I got 4.4 at 1.21v I didnt even really fine tune, I couldve probably used less volts but yea. I dont want to do any more oc'ing till I get a water cooling set up.

And how much difference would it make in actual degrees between a closed loop cooler, (a good one, like the 240l GLACER thats supposed to be similar to a h220 "on steroids") and a custom water loop with good quality parts?

So my question is if I was to do a clc or a custom loop would I need more than 1 rad to cool both the cpu and gpu? This case can fit only like 3 rads (2 240s and 1 120) but it wouldnt be optimal to have 3. I would like to just have 1 240 as a top exhaust, and maybe 1 120 as a back exhaust if I can fit it.

Also I am going to de-lid so I'll be using coollaboratory's liquid ultra, would anyone recommend this on top of the IHS as well? And I read that the gpu gets too hot for that TIM so what other normal paste would you guys recommend? Is tuniq mx-4 the best? I don't care about price I just want the best cooling period.

Sorry for the long *** thread lol

You're going to need at least 120 x 3 for rad area. If you can do more you should. Be prepared to spend at least $500 US for a custom loop. Read the stickies.