• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can my cable provider tell if I have a home network?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ocean

I have been using my home network for almost 3 years now with no problems. Now all of a sudden I get a letter and an email from the privider that the want another 5 bucks per month for additional IP addresses. I'm using a D-link 701 residential gateway and an anypoint phoneline network. I've been having problems all of a sudden with the internet on the client pc's.
Question is: Do you think I just need to reconfigure something or should I just fork over the dough?
My privider is ATT boadband.

Thanks for any help.:D

I cant comment about the client PC problem but you dont need to fork over $5 more cuzz you are not buying more IPs. You are just sharing the 1 IP u already paid for. Check out ATT website they will give u all the detail and they even show u how to use a linksys on ur own network.

AZN

I have a home network using Comcast. I do not have to pay for an extra ip and they know I have a network and don't care.

i assume your running NAT...
they can't tell how many PC's are behind the router...
If they can, its because you do not have it configured right and or they are doing something illegal by going into your network

That's the way it it used to be here. You see, ATT took over the cable company whithin the last year and I must say they have done a splendid job of upgrading the system. My speeds went from aprox 150-350 kbs to 2mbs!
So I,m thinkin they are trying to recoup some$$$. If you go to there web site they are happy to sell you Linksys gear for home networking, but they also tell you you gotr to fork over another 5 bucks for each client computer.