• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Amd Rig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Homer

hello!!! well this is my first time building an Amd system, i was gonna go with intel but with the new chips that just came out just got me thinking it over again. d'oh!!! since im on a budget i might as well go this route and its the best bang for the bux am i right? this system is gonna be used for ripping and some light gaming. is Amd good with ripping and encoding? i've done some caluclations and the best i can pull from my pocket is hmmmm around 500+. im gonna need the whole sha-bang except for the v-card and hd which i already have. here is what i pulled up with at newegg since they have great deals and i get it shipped next day cuz i live in cali :D let me know what u think i should replace:

Cpu: AMD ATHLON XP 2400 /266 FSB PROCESSOR CPU- OEM
MB: Asus Motherboard for AMD Athlon/XP/Duron Processors, Model# A7N8X
Ram: CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series CMX256A-3200 256MB PC3200 DDR RAM - OEM
Cooler: Thermalright SLK-800 ( Heatsink ONLY ). All Copper heat spread
Case: SILVER CHIEFTEC Server w/ 450w ps

with all this and shipping the total came up to like 594. ekkk!!! ill find away to get the extra funds. but if i can try to get it lower that would be awsome. speaking of that, what do u think its better to get the other xp's like 1900 or 1800 and wait for the price on the 2400 to drop? which processor would most likely be able to hit or even get close to 2ghz? same goes for the mb, should i change it to something cheaper and get the 2400 or vice versa? i just want something that is easy to upgrade instead of buying another board to fit a new processor. this is all to confusing for me...:eek: :rolleyes: :eek: :rolleyes:

thx for all the help and input. :beer: