• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Vantec Aeroflow heatsink copper center question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tonto

Registered
Well this will show I'm a newb. I finally got my P4 2.66 and I noticed how large the metal shield is on top of the chip.
I look at the round copper center of the Vantec heatsink and I find it's smaller.

Now my copper center is not flush with the surrounding aluminum (stick further out) so when install it the whole surface of the CPU will not be covered? Is this right?
Is it that the hot part of the chip is in the center so it doesn't matter about the coverage or is my heatsink totally FUBAR with the copper center sticking out past the rest of the base?

Thanks
T.

It is ok....

Hi Tonto, To answer your question your heatsink is ok, they are made like that...I read a review on them last night..The copper slug is circular and covers 80% of the heatspreader. It is copper which is an excellent heat conductor..Here is a review link :- http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1260 hope this helps I am looking at buying one as well...Cya Spanner out P.S don't forget AS3 or thermal paste to go onto the heatspreader.....

Thanks folks, good news :D
Knew it was a good HS but really thought it odd/wrong about the size.
Got the AS3 ready... now just so long as I don't snap anything :)

T.

i have that heat sink and you should make sure that you orient the heat sink in such a way as to cover the copper spot with the chip----you can put the heat sink on two ways...twisting it 180 degrees...

pip said:
don't worry about the core just make sure your fan pulls air away from the hs for this one that's the way it was made