Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Cannot find info on O/C an Intel 820 Mobo. Help Please!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-01, 08:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
Nightvalen
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
Cannot find info on O/C an Intel 820 Mobo. Help Please!!


I've been looking around quite a while now, and I'm beginning to think I'm the only person in the world with a DELL XPS733r with an Intel 820 Mobo and 128MB of PC600 RDRAM. Also have a Leadtek DDR GeForce 256 64MB, and a Soundblaster Live soundcard. Has anyone ever overclocked one of these systems and if so, please help. Thanks Dudes.

Nightvalen
Nightvalen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 02-22-01, 02:50 PM   #2
DE
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
Quote:
Nightvalen (Feb 19, 2001 08:59 p.m.):
I've been looking around quite a while now, and I'm beginning to think I'm the only person in the world with a DELL XPS733r with an Intel 820 Mobo and 128MB of PC600 RDRAM. Also have a Leadtek DDR GeForce 256 64MB, and a Soundblaster Live soundcard. Has anyone ever overclocked one of these systems and if so, please help. Thanks Dudes.

Nightvalen
My brother just ordered a vc820 that he was going to try to overclock. It only supports 100/133 bus speeds so we put a celeron 2 700 on a slocket to run at 100mhz instead of 66 but the board will not even turn on. I don't know if the board can sense that a celeron is on it instead of a p2/p3 or what..

DE
DE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-01, 09:06 PM Thread Starter   #3
Nightvalen
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2001

 
I'd probably have to guess it can tell it's a celeron there or at least NOT a Pentium III and it most certainly doesn't like it.
Nightvalen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-01, 10:38 PM   #4
skip
OCForums Founder & Extraordinarily Elusive Administrator

 
skip's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Chicago, IL

10 Year Badge
 
The VC820 has NO overclocking features. AND, it WILL NOT post with a Slocket installed. Will only work with a Slot 1 CPU installed. I "inherited" a VC820 and 128mb PC800 RDRAM and have nothing to run in it

__________________
Born to be Wild!!
skip is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?