• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

monitor modding

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pummer

It's been asked before, but I need reassurance. I'm looking to paint my monitor and put a window in it with a USB-powered LED. I have the design all worked out, but I'm gun-shy about opening the case. It's been sitting powered off overnight. It's one of those monitors where the circuit board is in a slot and you have to pull it out. I've had a monitor similar to this apart before, but I didn't even know the dangers a monitor could pose then. :eek:. I need reassurance/some easy safety tips, as in "you'll be fine as long as you don't touch X."

:D

the big caps are what your worried about, you can drain them with a sandbar resistor across the poles.

i'm a beginner in the world of high-voltage electronics...

exactly where would i get one of these sandbar resistors, and how would i go about using it?

thanks

There should also be a big suction cup looking thing with a wire coming out of it near the actual CRT. You really dont want to touch that, it carries a lot of voltage.

my 2 cents is this

push the power button on and off a few times, that should drain the caps

get it professionally done.. take it to an elecronics shop/tv repair shop and have them de-power it for you.... you REALLY dont want to get zapped... my arm hurt for 2 days the last time i got whacked

yea, let a pro disassemble it for you and then after you are done let him reassemble it..shouldn't cost anything more than 10 bucks and will be the safest/easiest sollution...

it's too late. the monitor's already apart and painted. i haven't been zapped yet, so hopefully i wont whilst putting it back together ;)