• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

System improvements based on information from these forums, thanks everyone

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

toadwart

I just wanted to thank everyone here for the help they've provided me. I've posted a couple of times, and spent quite a bit of time lurking on these boards. I've learned an enormous amount of valuable information concerning cooling and modding my system. I thought I knew what I was doing years ago, but you can always learn something more I guess. I'd mastered the hardware aspect of computers years ago, but now I'm learning more of the intricacies and manipulating aspects of improving performance and getting the most out of my system.

I have been building my own systems for about 10 years now, and until the last two or so I've always just haphazardly slapped heatsinks on my CPUs etc, but after reading posts on the boards here and wondering why I was having so many problems with my main system I discovered what was wrong with it. I'd applied my AS3 totally wrong, and used way too much thinking the more I had the better the conductivity. :eek: So as a result my AMD 1800+ was running at only 1.2Mhz, and nothing I could do would increase the speed, and the temp was around 72-94C on any given day during the summer. :eek: (I even saw 107C one day before it seized up on me. So far I haven't seen signs of permanent damage, though I've probably shortened the life-span of that CPU) Of course this was causing lockups and corruption problems. I finally got fed up and started looking for details on the boards here, and discovered that part of my problem was the AS3 application. (part of course was the PoS CPU cooler I'm using, and I'm in the process of installing an SLK on it now.)