Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Will High Quality SDRAM translate into better O/C stability?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-01, 07:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
dalva
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2000

 
Will High Quality SDRAM translate into better O/C stability?


I have what I like to call "shampoo RAM" generic SDRAM. Its only CAS 3 and its timings are 3-3-3 on my P3V4X mobo (SPD setting). I currently have it clocked at 140Mhz from its stock 133Mhz setting.

I am unable to O/C beyond 140Mhz FSB without going BLUE SCREEN. I was wondering if I were to invest in high quality SDRAM (i.e. Crucial, etc.) that are CAS 2 and has a 7.5 ms or lower (if they exist) timings maybe I will be able to go above 140Mhz FSB into a stable 142, 144 or above setting?

Here are my specs:

PIII 700 FCPGA - cB0 @980Mhz core voltage is 1.90 v (Using Abit Slotket III adapter for slot 1 interface)
Using Artic Silver paste and Alpha PEP66 T with Delta Fan to cool CPU down

P3V4X mobo (and yes the clock generator and chipset are being cooled by Artic Silver and a heatsink)
Shampoo RAM @ 140Mhz (generic SDRAM PC 133 CAS 3 RAM)
FSB is running at 140Mhz
I/O voltage is 3.66

Many thanks if you can provide some advice if any.
dalva is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-01, 08:07 AM   #2
e_storm
Member

 
e_storm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago, IL

 
thats definitely a possiblity...although it might be more than the ram thats holding you back. As you probably know, Sdram is really cheap now...there is pc150sdram thats cas2 out there now. If you got that, you could probably eliminate the ram as a suspect of whats holding you back.
e_storm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-01, 09:47 AM   #3
William
Guest




 
yes, the better the ram is generally the higher it will oc to. Micron, Mushkin, Infineon, and Corsair are the names to look out for. Also, the fewer sticks of ram usually allows you to oc better and more stably. IE, one 256 stick will oc better than two 128mb sticks.
  QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-01, 12:11 PM   #4
DaveG
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2001

 
You may want to try using docmemory to test the stability of your ram (in DOS mode) before getting new RAM. I do agree, however, that higher quality RAM (listed above) will improve your chances of hitting 150MHZ+ FSB. Another thing to consider is your video card (assuming it is AGP). When you up the FSB, the AGP bus is overclocked as well. I had to switch from an old 1X AGP card to a newer 4X card to get my P3V4X stable at 150 MHZ (plus the Corsair memory!). The PCI bus is less affected because there are usually several divider settings available in the BIOS to run it closer to the 33 Mhz spec.
DaveG is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-01, 12:39 PM Thread Starter   #5
dalva
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2000

 
Sorry about that, I forgot to mention my Video Card specs, here it is:

Hercules Geforce 2 GTS 64MB
Core is 200Mhz and DDR RAM is O/C to 400Mhz. (image and game play is rock solid).

Running at AGP 2X (4X setting results in system instability)
dalva is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-01, 08:03 PM   #6
outhouse
Senior Member

 
outhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Auburn California

 
You should do fine with your VC also if you have the VIA chipset make sure sideband is disabled in registry and this will give you extra stability at high FSB. I'm running at 167FSB with 2x settings in bios, better memory will always help but you may be able to set your BIOS memory setting's to minus clock speed and this will let you go higher with your FSB it may cost you a little bandwidth but atleast you will be able to see how high you can go.

goodluck

__________________
GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc
outhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?