Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Internal thermal diodes????

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-01, 04:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
Octoman
Member

 
Octoman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston, TX

 
Internal thermal diodes????


I have a 550E cBo and wanted to know if it had an internal temperature diode? If so (or not) what programs can I use to see the temperature output of that sensor? I have MBM5 but I think the temerature for the CPU is coming from the thermosistor underneath the CPU. Thanks

__________________
Octavious Chacon

"the smoke is the magic part of the chip and if it gets out you can't run the puter anymore." -el
Octoman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-01, 05:05 PM   #2
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I think the other major chips manufacturer () offers that feature, as far as I know, there is no internal sensor... only the diode on the motherboard, which I have found to be adequate for my needs.
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-01, 05:11 PM   #3
Phil
Senior Member

 
Phil's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bolton, UK

 
As far as I know all intel cpu's from around the p2 350 onwards have an internal thermal diode sensor. MBM5 can tell you that temp as long as you have a board with the required chip to interperate it, which is the maxim 1617 (I think there is a newer one called the NE1617) this also has it's own sensor on board as well

__________________
"Lets Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"
Phil is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-01, 08:36 PM   #4
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Phil
As far as I know all intel cpu's from around the p2 350 onwards have an internal thermal diode sensor. MBM5 can tell you that temp as long as you have a board with the required chip to interperate it, which is the maxim 1617 (I think there is a newer one called the NE1617) this also has it's own sensor on board as well
Oh... so I checked google...

What newer motherboard's have this chip?

The ones I found on google were BX boards, some being a bit old.
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-01, 08:45 PM   #5
Phil
Senior Member

 
Phil's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bolton, UK

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


Oh... so I checked google...

What newer motherboard's have this chip?

The ones I found on google were BX boards, some being a bit old.
I know that the maxim was used on bx boards (some versions of my qdi board have them but wouldn't you know it mine doesn't) and I had presumed that the ne1617 was used on the 800 series boards.

__________________
"Lets Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"
Phil is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?