• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help w/bios settings. MSI K8N Neo2 Plat

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BIOSnoob

Hi,

Just got this msi board running on an amd 3500+ winchester. I tried a few 3d benchmarks such as aquamark3 and 3dmark2001 (system chokes on 3dmark2005, 1-30 fps) I've noticed my system scores are below average and people with 3200+'s oc'd are beating me by 15-20%. I wana give my system a little tweak up and get my bios running more optimized. I'm pretty new to oc'ing and this has been my first time playing with the bios. Can you guys please help me out with all this?

I've read somewhere on this forum of some bios setting for noobs to OC. I can't find it in bios but someone was talking about bios setting for overclocking that was in some military higherachy such as PRIVATE=1% OC up to GENERAL=10% OC. Can't remember the details about it and i can't find the thread anymore. I know was for this board. If you know of this setting would you recomend using it and tell me where it is?

Also, I can't seem to find the hidden bios settings for ati/nv speed up. I tried shft+f2 alt+f3 while in cell meneu but nothing happens. I'm confused wether i do this in corecell program or in bios cell meneu? I don't think i instaled the corcell program yet.

Please help with this one too.. I'm using sata port 1 on ports 1&2 cause ports 3&4 are clear across my case and i'd have to run the cable over my gfx card and cpu. last resort if i end up needing it to lock my agp/pci. Is this important to do if overclocking cpu?

Something else that concerns me about overclocking is do you OC bios settings in small incrememnts or can you just setup your bios just like someone else's OC with same system specs as you. Not sure how it works? I would think incrememtaly is more logical. Never tried this?