• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Questions on Tubing and additives to stop clouding.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jimbob7

Hey, i'm about to get upgrade my loop a bit. Now currently my watercooling is fine, just that the tubing itself (not the water) has been coverd with a white film. Now i know this is a common problem, but i've read a few times people put washing power (what sort i'd like to know) into the loop to stop this from happening, is this known to work?

Currently in my loop there is Distilled water, Anti freeze (which i think is the culprit) and a touch of UV.

I'm using clearflex tubing, does the tubing used make a difference to this problem? If so i'm willing to pay a bit extra.

Thanks

Scott.

Greetings.

I'm no expert in watercooling but I run Clearflex here and noticed a similar white/cloudy ish residue appear after around 6 months of running distilled water and Glycol anti-freeze (about 5:1 ratio).

I wasn't sure what to do but, feeling adventurous, decided on putting some household washing up liquid in the loop. I ran the system for a short while (20 minutes maybe) like this, then drained it. Well bit of a problem here because I kinda overdid on the soap so ended up with nothing but foam left in the pipes, so, I refilled, drained, refilled, drained (yawn, keep going)...

Anyway after finally getting all the bubbles out the tubes where amazingly clean once again! They almost looked brand new again. I was happy with the results as I never needed to disassemble the loop to clean it. :)

Not sure if this is considered a good method or not, though... :shrug:

P.S. I believe Tygon has better resistance to discolouring though I've no hands-on experience of that so can't really say.