• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

"MCP" Waterblock Concept

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
"Nazca" Waterblock

I've been wanting to design a waterblock for a while now. Regardless of whether this amounts to anything or not I'm designing what I can based around what tools I have access to (Manual Mill, Machine Lathe, Drillpress).
Just trying to get feedback on my design. Hit me hard because I've never done this kind of design work before and just wanted to get this concept out in the open. The aim is low restriction, but more turbulance could be added to the fin design by using an alternating drill-hole pattern.
mcp-block_0.jpg
mcp-block_1.jpg

The copper base is 2.5" in diameter with a step on the underside. The acetal top will bolt to the base from the underside. I didn't add the O-Ring to the model but there will be one there.

The "bowl" is cut into the base using a slit saw. The barb sizes are 1/2" ID (but could be larger). The inlet feeds directly into the center and then exits around the edges of the fins, then is channeled to the outlet.

Last edited:
It wouldn't be a very expensive block to make since the base is fairly simple.
I don't have any specific plans to makes these as-of-yet since
a) I don't have a rig that I plan to water-cool
and
b) I have too many projects going on at the same time
It's just an exercise in "what-if" for the moment.

Captain Slug said:
It wouldn't be a very expensive block to make since the base is fairly simple.
I don't have any specific plans to makes these as-of-yet since
a) I don't have a rig that I plan to water-cool
and
b) I have too many projects going on at the same time
It's just an exercise in "what-if" for the moment.
If you need some testing on a A64 platform I'll be glad to do it when you make one :p