• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a computer

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BryanB

Registered
Hello everyone I see alot of you are having fun with your conroe setups. I was wondering on how difficult is it to assemble a computer yourself, I have never done it before though I have changed RAM, Video Cards and Hard Drives.

The main resaon I'd like to assemble myself is because my local stores are so random, one sells the CPU 50 $ cheaper but the other has cheaper PSU and Video Cards so if I bought the cheapest from both, itd all work out

Ive never ever taken out a mobo or put a CPU in. Do you think I should just pay the 30 or so bucks and get there warranty on it or is there a nice guide for ppl like me :)

Thanks, Bryan :beer:

Hmmm, have you ever like installed upgrade parts into a pc? If it would only cost 30.00 to have it built then have a professional do it.

Everyone has a first time. I would say its totally simple and anyone with any PC savy could do it. But odd things almost always pop up. And troubleshooting is where experience and knowing what your doing really comes in handy.

Buying a case, sticking a board in, etc etc its mostly plug and play using the MB manual as a guide. Some things to watch out for:

Static charge, so always try and work some place like a wooden table or work bench. Touch the metal side of the case before you handle anything. Keep your parts laying on anti-static bags when their laying out. Try not to rub on the connectors. Line up the MB mounting screws right, the first time, and remember to put the back IO plate in before you screw it down... god I always forget that one. A badly mounted MB is a PITA to figure out and fix.

Most important thing, have another PC with net nearby so you can research any problems you run into!