• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need some help on making GUIs in C++

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

andyl33t

Hi, sorry if this has been asked before but I need some help on this topic. I am currently learning C++, and all the programs that I create are in a command box form. I want to create GUI programs. What should I use to create these GUI programs? I have got a wxwidgets book and I do not understand any of it. Could someone explain to me what I need to do in order to create GUIs. Please note that I have no knowledge with any other programming languages, only C++.

Thank you very much

Do you expect us to retell everything that's written down in several hundred pages in a book? Your question is kinde of unspecific

klingens said:
A basic question: do you know what event driven programming is?

Everybody has to start somewhere ;)

A different question:
Is your book just a documentation book or does it provide a guide to learning what you want to know?

Yes, event driven programming is the main thing you need to learn when going to GUI from console. So if he doesn't know he should first try to understand that: after this everything else he tries is so much easier, since he now knows the main concept GUIs are based on.

At least for me it all made a whole lot more sense.

so what would you recommend to do? master c++ in console form, and then what after that?

Thanks

QT is another good cross-platform GUI system. You can get it free for personal, academic, and open source use, IIRC. I'm planning on learning it sometime soon. -- Paul