• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

cable modem dying?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

YOO

well i dont if it is but the modem is about 5 years old and is a motorola surfboard. for the past week my connection has been quite sh***y. i ping 30 in a bf2 server and i lag like crazy and while im doin it the ping is steady at 30.
the same happens in any other server and i rarely ping over 80. on the web sometimes it takes one minute just to load google 0o. feels like the connection comes and goes when it wants to. if it was my connection then i would be pinging about 300+ on server wich im not and i still lag. is to modem goin bad?
i loose connection to xfire even for no reason. anyways let me know what ideas u ppl have because to me is the modem but then again im a noob :p

ALSO seems that my upload is not even working now and it was before 0o.

Last edited:
try renewing your ip and cleaning all the crap up on your pc ??

what model is your surfboard ?? i loved my surfboard when i had it.. ran fast. but it wasnt 5 years old either :D

is the SB5100 wich it stands vertical wich i like :D . i tried renewin my ip address but sometimes it takes for ever for the online light to stop flashing. i ran spyware and ad awere and i have no spyware.

wow look at this
Tracing route to www.l.google.com [72.14.203.104]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 36 ms 12 ms * 12.125.72.101
4 29 ms * * tbr2-p032701.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.2.213]
5 28 ms * * tbr2-cl7.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.10.45]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * 28 ms 27 ms att-gw.chi.qwest.net [192.205.32.98]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * 29 ms chx-edge-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.139.166]
10 29 ms 34 ms * 63.144.64.134
11 37 ms 29 ms 29 ms 66.249.95.253
12 30 ms * * 72.14.238.89